Facebook is the biggest social media platform with over 2.45 billion monthly active users. The social media giant provides several privacy controls and security options to its users. One such feature is the ability to block users to prevent them from contacting you and viewing your content.

To protect the user’s privacy, Facebook does not inform users when they are blocked. However, here are a few indicators that help you see if you have been blocked.

How to know if you have been blocked on Facebook

Friend list

The first thing that happens when someone blocks you on Facebook is that they are removed from your friend list. If a person has suddenly been removed from your friend list, there’s a good chance that you have been blocked by them. However, if you have hundreds of friends, this method is not easy.

You can no longer view their profile

If a person has blocked you, you will no longer be able to view their profile. To check if someone has blocked you on Facebook, try searching their name in Facebook search. If you cannot view their profile, this means that you have been blocked by them.

You can no longer view their posts

The next thing you will notice is that you will no longer be able to view their posts such as photos, status updates and others. This could also mean that the user has changed their privacy setting for posts, so this is not a sure shot method.

Try to tag them in a post

If you have been blocked by a person on Facebook, you will not be able to tag them in posts. You can try to tag them on post. If you are able to tag them, this means that you have not been blocked.

Invite them to a group

If you have been blocked by a person on Facebook, you will not be able to invite them to groups. Try to invite the person to a group and if you are not able to add them, this means that you have been either blocked or unfriended.

Try sending a message

You can also try sending a message to that person to check if you have been blocked. If you have been blocked, you will get an error message saying that the ‘user is not available’.

See also:

Here’s how to check if someone has blocked you on WhatsApp


Add Comment
Keep scrolling for next story

Here’s how to save your home address in Google Maps

Loading next story
Copyright © 2015 Bennett, Coleman & Co. Ltd.
All rights reserved.